Saturday, August 13, 2022
HomeFeaturesCampus CornerJackson Mirmina of Higganum Wins Award at 2022 Hofstra Film Festival

Jackson Mirmina of Higganum Wins Award at 2022 Hofstra Film Festival

Merit Pages News

(June 30, 2022) — The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication showcased a record 70 films at the 25th Hofstra University Student Film Festival. The annual year-end event, which spanned three days, included 26 thesis films, as well as documentary, experimental, intermediate and advanced films. More 20 students, including Jackson Mirmina of Higganum, were recognized for creating exceptional films in categories such as screenwriting, editing, sound and production design, and cinematography. Mirmina’s film, Real Criminals, took second place in the “Thesis Films” category.

“More significant than the number of films displayed was the outstanding quality of those films,” said Professor Bill Jennings of the Department of Radio, Television and Film. “While Variety magazine rates our film program among the top 30 in North America, I can say without any hyperbole, based on the films that were produced here, that we may be the best undergraduate program in the country.”

The link to winners in each category is available here.

Hofstra University is an internationally ranked and recognized private university in Hempstead, New York. Hofstra is a dynamic community of nearly 11,000 students dedicated to civic engagement, academic excellence and becoming leaders in their communities and their careers. Our campus is a leafy oasis just a quick train ride away from New York City and all its cultural, recreational and professional opportunities. We offer small classes and personal attention, with the resources, technology and facilities of a large university. Students can choose from more than 165 undergraduate program options and 175 graduate program options in the liberal arts and sciences, education, health professions and human services, the Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs, the Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science, the Frank G. Zarb School of Business, the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication, the Maurice A. Deane School of Law, the Hofstra Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies, and the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell.

Must Read