Saturday, August 13, 2022
HomeEducationHKISHKMS: Cougar Celebrations January 2019

HKMS: Cougar Celebrations January 2019

Submitted by Jennifer Olsen, HKMS Principal.

Welcome to our January Cougar Celebrations! We recognize students and their achievements at our monthly Town Meetings and want to share these celebrations with you too.

Cougar Spotlight for January
The Cougar Spotlight is a new recognition for students who are showing excellence in the classroom. Each month teachers will nominate students and each student will be visited by Dr. Olsen to talk about his/her work. Please come visit our main office to see our Cougar Spotlight bulletin board filled with examples of students’ excellence. The following students were recognized for January:

Grade 6

  • Kaylee Benson for her Africa Political Map 
  • Keira Sehl, Liam Brown, and Will Stolen for their model of the Water Cycle 
  • Clare Link for her personal narrative

Grade 7

  • Jaimey DiNapoli for her essay on Thomas Jefferson 
  • Johanna Thelen, Skylar DeGrasse, Caroline Ignatuk, Emma Sajus, McKenna Cawley, and Emily Alger for their cooperative challenge in PE 
  • Laina Goodison and Emerson Kehlenbach for their Pythagorean Theorem PowerPoint 
  • Brooke Hickman for her Pythagorean Theorem PowerPoint 
  • Liza Murphy for her companion book to The Giver 
  • Tyler Gagliardi for his companion book to The Testing 
  • Emerson Kehlenbach for her companion book to The Doll People 
  • Ben Cozean, Samantha Minickene, Samantha Ruimerman, and Bryce O’Linn for their Separation of Powers Constitution Project 
  • Ella Connelly, Sofia Pepitone, Madison Moriarty, and Morgan Cook for their Federalism Constitution Project 
  • Skylar DeGrasse, Louis Virgulto, and Kyle Hoynack for their Individual Rights Constitution Project

Grade 8

  • Ryan Botteon and Liam Hoddinott for their Hour of Code

In February, the Cougar Spotlight will feature students in Applied Academics and Fine Arts classes and eighth grade students.

Congratulations to HKMS Students Chosen for the Connecticut Music Educators’ Association Festival
The following students auditioned and were accepted into the Connecticut Music Educators’ Association (CMEA) Festival to be held this spring. Students accepted into the festival rehearse with their peers from schools in the southern part of Connecticut and then perform for families and friends. We are so proud to have these outstanding musicians represent HKMS.

  • Band: Nicholas Frasco (Tuba), Abby Jones (Oboe), Alejandra Morales (Flute), Tyler Perry (Trombone), Laura Strick (Euphonium)
  • Orchestra: Jeffrey Thebeau (Percussion)
  • Choir: Pooja Badami (Alto), Olivia Campo (Soprano), Elizabeth Cawley (Alto), Bethany Chrystal (Soprano), Tyson Glazier (Tenor), Liam Hoddinott (Tenor), Natalie Houlton (Alto), Jamie House (Soprano), Liza Murphy (Alto), Grace Quilliam (Soprano), Olivia Tucker (Alto), Neveah Wikarska (Soprano)
  • Jazz Band: Kristen Thebeau (Alto Saxophone)

Cougar Core Value Award Winners for January

Our Cougar Core Value Awards are given to students who exemplify one or more of our Cougar Core Values: Respect, Responsibility, Acceptance, Kindness, and Perseverance. These Core Values were developed and accepted by HKMS students, parents, faculty, and staff in 2016, and we recognize students each month. We appreciate these students’ commitment to upholding our core values and being role models at HKMS.

Team 5-1
Anthony Fredericksen: Kindness, Respect and Responsibility
Alison Miranda: Kindness, Perseverance and Respect
Isabella Torrison: Kindness, Perseverance, Respect and Responsibility

Team 5-2
Rowan Baucom: Acceptance and Kindness
Julian Gartner: Acceptance, Kindness, Perseverance and Respect
Catherine Nguyen: Acceptance and Kindness

Team 6-1
Jack Cozean: Respect and Responsibility
Claire Eighmy: Respect and Responsibility
Magnolia Willey: Kindness, Respect and Responsibility

Team 6/7
Ian Masterson, Gr. 6: Kindness
Caley Napoletano, Gr. 6: Perseverance
Alejandra Morales, Gr. 7: Perseverance and Responsibility
Meriel Weeks, Gr. 7: Kindness and Responsibility
Thomas Kekacs, Gr. 7: Acceptance, Kindness and Respect

Team 7-1
Morgan Cook: Acceptance, Kindness, Perseverance and Respect
Jacob McGoey: Respect and Responsibility
Jay Wikarska: Perseverance and Responsibility

Team 8-1
Pooja Badami: Acceptance and Kindness
Julia Favalora: Kindness and Responsibility
Anthony Maio: Kindness and Respect

Team 8-2
Owen Lelko: Perseverance and Responsibility
Laura Strick: Kindness, Respect and Responsibility
Audrey Wrinn: Kindness, Respect and Responsibility

Applied Academic and Fine Arts, Grade 5
Emilia Maziarz (Art): Kindness, Respect and Responsibility
Julia Battista (Band): Perseverance, Respect and Responsibility
Adam Livingston (French): Perseverance and Responsibility
Alana Gaines (Physical Eduation): Acceptance, Perseverance and Responsibility

Applied Academic and Fine Arts, Grade 6
Veronica Pypa (Band): Perseverance and Respect
Margaret Robinson (Health): Respect and Responsibility
Cole Szestakow (Life Skills): Kindness, Perseverance and Respect
Julia Lelko (Spanish): Kindness, Respect and Responsibility

Applied Academic and Fine Arts, Grade 7
Caden Romegialli (Chorus): Perseverance, Respect and Responsibility
Sydney Adelberg (Health): Perseverance and Responsibility
Caden Romegialli (Spanish): Kindness, Respect and Responsibility

Applied Academic and Fine Arts, Grade 8
Jamison Cooke (Computer Science & Coding): Kindness, Perseverance and Responsibility
William Gordon (Media Production): Respect and Responsibility
Sophia Ramino (Physical Education): Perseverance
Grace McKenzie (Spanish): Kindness, Respect and Responsibility
Johanna Houska (Technical Education): Perseverance and Responsibility
Colton Whiteley (World Percussion): Respect and Responsibility
Brooklyn Bailey (Spanish): Respect and Responsibility

Thank you to Caley Napoletano and Seanna Ruimerman for raising money for the Connecticut Humane Society. HKMS raised $481.50.

Thank you to Erin Marica and Kristen Thebeau for spearheading our Backpack Drive to collect new and slightly used backpacks for the Department of Children and Families. Please send in your backpack donation by the end of February. A collection box is located near Mr. Ferjak’s desk.

Must Read