Thursday, October 6, 2022
HomeFeaturesEducationHK Hall of Fame Restructuring

HK Hall of Fame Restructuring

Submitted by Joanne Nesti.

After ten years and the induction of more than 50 honorees, the Haddam-Killingworth Hall of Fame Committee has decided to forgo hosting an induction dinner in 2019 in order to focus its attention on re-structuring the HKHOF Committee and its work. The Committee has selected 2016 Inductee Howie Burr to be its new Chairman. He will succeed 2013 Inductee Phil Devlin, who stepped down in September after five years as Chair. In addition, 2011 Inductee Tommy Thompson will serve as Vice-Chairman, and 2015 Inductee Elaine Jackson will serve as Secretary.

The HK Hall of Fame was established in 2009 to honor those individuals who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to the service of children and/or an outstanding record of service to the community. The Committee will suspend its nomination process for the next several months, but expects to issue a renewed call for nominations in the fall of 2019. It will, however, continue to present its $500 Student Civic Achievement Award to eligible seniors from the Class of 2019.

Information on the Hall of Fame and its inductees, along with information on the Civic Achievement Award, can be found on the Regional School District 17 website, Click on the “Community” tab, and then the link to “HK Hall of Fame.”

Must Read