Friday, June 9, 2023
HomeLocal SportsHigh School Sports2022 Boys Lacrosse: HKHS Again Wins Shoreline Conference Championship

2022 Boys Lacrosse: HKHS Again Wins Shoreline Conference Championship

by Mike Kelly

(May 28, 2022)—For the second year in a row, the Haddam Killingworth High School Boys Varsity Lacrosse team are champions. In a dramatic come-from-behind victory in front of a sellout crowd on May 26, 2022, the Cougars defeated conference rival Morgan to take home the Shoreline Conference Championship trophy for 2022.

The path to victory was not easy for the Cougars, who found themselves down three goals late in the first half. But as all championship teams do, they found a way to win.

HK got the scoring started at the 6:17 mark in the first period during a man-up advantage. Middie Nolan Braren pinpointed a sidearm missile from GLE into the top right corner of the net, 1-0 HK advantage. Morgan responded quickly, however, tying the game 1-1.

In the second quarter Morgan took the momentum, running off three goals for the 4-1 advantage. Braren stemmed the bleeding for the Cougars at the 1:42 mark, 4-2 Morgan.

As has been the case many times this season for the HK squad, a different team seemed to emerge from the locker room in the second half, and the Cougars quickly took control of the game. The Brothers Phipps went to work, first with a dodge down the right alley and score from Alex, then Cory rolling from X and scoring, then Alex again burying one in the net from above the right crease. In a matter of minutes HK had all the momentum and the 5-4 lead. On the defensive side, a brilliant tactical move by Coach Federico to play strictly zone in the second half stymied the Morgan attack.

Midway through the third period, d-pole Matteo Piacenti cleared one coast-to-coast and dished to C. Phipps for the strike, 6-4 HK. A deafening roar erupted from the HK fans. C. Phipps then put on another show, rolling from X, shoulder-faking and spinning away from his defender for another score, 7-4 HK. From that point forward the notorious steel curtain finished things off, and HK emerged with the championship, 7-6. Congratulations to the victors. Is this the start of a dynasty?

All Shoreline Team (L to R): Fred Federico (Head Coach), Cooper Pitts (sophomore), Matteo Piacenti (senior), Sam Young (senior), Nate Kelly (junior), Corey Phipps (senior), Nolan Braren (junior), Braden Civiello (sophomore), Jack Insalaco (junior)

Photos by Liz Griswold

Must Read